Happy New Year! 

I was so busy with getting repairs finished on my vehicle yesterday that I didn’t write a “Happy New Year” blog. I also missed the Steelers vs Browns game. 😤
I’ve been really tempted to purchase a new car, but I’m not ready for that kind of commitment. As is the case already, I’m a pretty big commitment phobe. The current lack of car payment is what allows me to travel more. So, I spent a couple hundred dollars (and my mom gifted me with some cash) fixing my car. Personally, I think it sounds and runs better! Thanks to the honest mechanic! I have a new goal with this car which may be met this year…300,000 miles. Spending a thousand or so dollars each year is still better than a 2+ year lease or a five year payment commitment for a new car. I take time to remind myself of this during times of frustration!
Last night I had In-N-Out because it’s amazing. Since I’m home, my mother treated me to the double double mustard fried (pickles are okay) onion add chopped chilis burger – in case you wanted to know the BEST way to eat an In-N-Out burger 😉. It was then that I thought about the past year whilst in my minor food coma…
I thought about how it took me six months to really change some maladaptive behaviors last year: to learn how to really say no (and reflect on why I felt the need to say “yes”), to learn how to have a shit ton of patience, to learn that self-care is way more important than pleasing others, and that people who want to be in your life will always let you know by way of actions – otherwise it’s best not to bother.
These all didn’t come into awareness in 365 days. Most of them were lingering over the years, but somehow I gained further awareness last year in how to stop feeding them. Every now and then I’ll snack on the past but not entertain the idea over dinner and certainly will not get into a full blown food coma over it <- I’m not sure of this analogy. Anyway, the point is that fruition comes when it comes and better that in the long run than trying to press for something to just “click”.
I’m spending 2017 completely sober of alcohol. Why? Well, I just feel like having this year be completely free of any convolution. In the aforementioned lessons learned, I know I reached those conclusions because of a new found conscious awareness. So, my goal is to be as consciously aware as possible. Haters gonna hate too!
I’m about to look for my first 5K of 2017. I didn’t run in December because I was traveling so much. I’ve also taken measurements and weight of my body because that’s going to be intresting to see how that’s going to change. I didn’t work out yesterday and I probably won’t today. Oh well. Remember the long term and not the right now.
I wrote my first journal entry of 2017 last night and it was short. Just a little chronicle of where my mind was at last night = sufficient.
Next up…a piece on budget breakdown.

Leave a Reply

