Needs. And a no-spend update.Β 

Food is a need.

Thank God there was harsh winter weather all weekend. This helps not spend money out! πŸ™Œ
I spent an evening with a friend and we watched Girl on a Train (πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘) and some YouTube. This made for a really cheap catch up date – FREE DATE. She’s got a really comfy place too.
Spending…
I said I was only going to buy $150 worth of food. I went well over my budget. I bought $61 worth of fresh sushi grade fish (way too much and I am basically sushied out!) I went to Costco and spent $137. Costco was a fun trip though. I bought meat and separated it and froze a great majority of it. I bought other food items too; I bought items I knew would last in the freezer. I also made a trip to Trader Joe’s. I bought my favorite night time tea, snack foods and beverages, and quick frozen meals (aka the meals I can just grab when I’m feeling lazy) for $50. I had to go into the next biggest city to take care of my car care and stopped by Taco Bell for something that could tie me over, $2. I’m rounding here. If my calculations are corrext, I spent an extra $100 on groceries. For me this is no biggie because I could easily spend that on dinner and drinks out with friends – the extra $100 – for only 4 hours of hang out. Now, I have about 3 months worth of food for myself.
I’ll admit that being responsible for my finances is a bit foreign to me. I never used to keep my fridge stocked. Granted, I use to live with roomies and so one shelf doesn’t really allow to have a stockpile. Many people on the web disagree with holding a Costco membership as a single person. I personally appreciate what I was able to purchase. I know everytime I open the fridge, I am reassured that I have food to eat. Maybe that’s what was missing – that reassurance. There’s some sort of safety (and less anxiety) in knowing I have food to eat. Actually, in a very much habitual way, I food prepped two take-to-work lunches. Like, “I have so much shit to work with!”
I feel like I spent a lot of money and I did. When the register reads that $137 is due, it was an eye opener. When I previously went shopping, $20 here and there, I didn’t really have a conscious mind of adding everything up.

In a moment of being alone with “nothing” to do I cleaned part of my place. I took two trash bags out. I wasnt feeling like I was on top of the world after cleaning. I just fet that I had done something that benefited me and was not something I used to avoid. I literally had nothing to do but feel I made a good choice. I didn’t focus on buying the healthiest food items. However, for me, it is healthy to do things I would normally avoid doing that are good for myself. 

We are only 9 days into January and so I’m looking forward to what the next couple of weeks brings. 

Leave a Reply

